#Foodie #Friday : Behind the Cafe Counter

HAPPY FRIDAY EVERYONE! I hope that you all have had a productive week just as I have. We haven’t been posting as much as we usually do, so I finally wanted to share why.

My foodie tendencies have transition from a passion to a switch of careers. Yes, I left my corporate job as a Publicist and decided to follow my heart. I live to cook, being in the kitchen lifts my spirit every time I pick up a spatula and put on an apron. As my Granny always tells me, you have to have love in the kitchen. My love speaks through each bite I take and or enjoy with someone else.

A few weeks ago, I decided to step out on a limb and try to get a job at a bakery or cafe. Hopefully in the next year or two I will open my own small cafe. Before I set out to conquer that goal, I thought it would be best to gain actual experience.

My resume came to a bit of a shock for the interviewers, it’s rather interesting watching someone see all of the brands I have helped build and my previous experience. Why a cafe? Why the food industry? A lot of questions with a simple answer… It’s my passion.

Enough said for Ganache Cafe! I will say when I open the doors to my own establishment, that I wouldn’t be here if it wasn’t for the team at Ganache who gave me a chance.

The team was so welcoming and I fit right it. I did find myself saying “who knew it was that hard to create foam for a cappuccino?” Believe me, it’s not easy at as you may think, so take it easy on the baristas that start your morning. After almost two weeks, I just finally got it down but there is room for improvement.

20130405-144146.jpg
I am continuously picking the brain of one of their owners, Stephanie. Also in her early twenties, she is exactly where I hope to be soon, truly inspiring!

If you’re ever in Hoboken, stop by to see me and the team! I now make a delicious Caramel Macchiato! 🙂

Like What You See?

