Breakfast of Champions

So I decided to do a little experimenting with this whole gluten-free lifestyle. I must say its not as hard as I thought it would be, but it is still rather difficult. I am a bread-lover, I love to indulge in biscuits or pancakes on the weekends…keyword was weekends. It’s a sort of guilty pleasure moment type of thing.

So imagine my excitement when we scanned the grocery aisles and found an entire gluten-free baking goods section. What caught my eye you ask?

20121001-230727.jpg

The possibilities that stood before me! My taste buds began to water! I looked over at LaurenAsh…of course she is not sharing the feeling. Despite not having any restrictions she has decided to be a team player and also eat a gluten-free diet. Did I mention that our dogs now have to eat wheat-free and gluten-free food as well, one of them has allergies…can you believe that?! It’s a family affair!

Back to more important things…mama is going to make some homemade biscuits!

20121001-231208.jpg

Believe it or not, it doesn’t even include a lot of ingredients.

2 cups of biscuit baking mix
3/4 cup of milk (I used vanilla almond milk to give them a little flavor)
1/2 cup of butter (made of vegetable oil)
1/4 cup of all purpose flour to dust (also gluten and wheat-free)

20121001-231506.jpg

Oh and dare I forget a large counter, rolling pin, biscuit cutter and baking pan.

After I mixed the ingredients well enough to form a near perfect dough ball.

20121001-231837.jpg

Pressed it out to about 1 1/2 in thick

20121002-074810.jpg

I let the dough set for a few mins and went to cutting. Before I knew it I was down to the last of the dough…

20121002-074949.jpg

…with 8 perfectly round biscuits.

20121002-075053.jpg

I let them bake for about 15 mins at 375 degrees.

I must say I was really proud of myself. So decided to take my experimentation a little further and smeared almond butter one of my biscuits. We have never tasted it before so I made sure there was also honey on the table.

20121002-075447.jpg
Turned out to be a big hit! We even had enough to enjoy with breakfast the next morning.

20121003-191521.jpg
Fresh Tilapia baked with chopped peppers, scrambled eggs and homemade biscuits. Needless to say we were full past our lunch hour!

Like What You See?

