Traveling to the Middle East for Snack Time

As you know we are awfully fawn of Indian and Middle East cuisines, so last night I decided to embark on a little journey. At the end of the journey, I will be able to enjoy my very own, delicious homemade hummus and pita chips.

Why you ask? I don’t know! I just jumped up and decided to make it! Geez! 

Fun fact for you: Did you know that Hummus is a Levantine Arab food dip or spread made from cooked, mashed chickpeas, blended with tahini, olive oil, lemon juice, salt and garlic? Oh you did! Well did you know? Many cuisine-related sources describe hummus as a very ancient food, or connect it to famous historical figures such as Saladin or its high in iron and vitamin C and also has significant amounts of folate and vitamin B6. Ha! Ok, enough with the history lesson.

Get your buds ready we are going for a camel ride!

Ingredients:

1/2 tsp of ground black pepper

1/2 tsp of garlic powder

1 tbsp of olive oil

1 whole pitas (cut in triangles)

Lay the triangles on a baking sheet, set the oven to 350 degrees. Mix the seasonings into the oil and brush the bread pieces. Bake for 1o mins.

NEXT STEP

Ingredients: 

1 can of drained chick peas

1/4 cup of olive oil

1 tbsp of lemon juice

1 tsp of cumin (I used Goya Adobo with Cumin, I love the blend of the additional seasonings)

Place the chick peas in first, then the seasonings, add the remaining liquids last. This allows the seasonings to travel to the bottom for a good blend.

Start to blend, I use a Bella so I only give it a good 3 spins for a good texture.

I THINK IT’S READY !

PERFECT! 

Of course, I had to prepare a nice platter and make it pretty.

Evidently it was delicious, but we saved you one!

3 thoughts on “Traveling to the Middle East for Snack Time

      • Melt in Your Mouth Chicken from Sensitive and Centsible (this looks amazing. a0I’ll have to try it using mya0Allergy Free Mayonnaise!a0 Still wonkrig on cheese subs for my blog, but use what you can!)

Like What You See?

