Sunday Traveling…Shrimp anyone?

Okay! So…it was a Sunday afternoon and Ms. D was nowhere to be found and my BUDs were definitely becoming quite annoyed with me. What the heck was I going to eat?! Typical Sunday protocol calls for:

1) Sleep in till around 10 (Don’t judge me)

2) Sunday cleaning…blah…of course

3) Weekly grocery shopping @ Path Mart

4) Take the Pups to the park

Yes, they must get done in this order! I was really feeling a little Indian but I opted to see what I could find at the market. When I’m hungry, the last thing I want to do is prepare a meal that takes a zillion years (okay not literally) but you all know exactly what I mean! We all want something that takes about 10 minutes but taste like it took hours. I call this the “Magic 15.” Hmm.. this is a meal that can be prepared, cooked and ready to eat in just 15 minutes. Yes…it’s possible!

As I made my grand entrance into the market, a sudden glow appeared from afar. I crept closer, closer…ah..the fresh Seafood department! This is probably my favorite part of the grocery shopping experience. Salmon, Catfish, and OMG can’t forget the Shrimp!!! Suddenly, there it was! My tastebuds had triggered. Shrimp it was! The great thing about going to the market, with a fresh Seafood department, is that they usually will steam and season your Shrimp right there! Seriously?! It gets no better! I stepped right up and asked for 1/2 lb of those bad boys! Jose looked at me and asked, “Steamed and seasoned?” I replied before he could even finish, “YES!” Remember, our “Magic 15.” One of the steps is already complete!

I finished shopping (after about 2 hours) once again please don’t judge me, headed straight home to make my quick-lunch, 15 minute Shrimp Pasta! This is a nice, quick meal for all you Seafood lovers who just don’t have the time or patience to cook. Did I mention it’s rather simple and it only takes 15 minutes!

Ingredients needed (no need to get all technical with terms) : Servings 1


1/2 lb pre-cooked, seasoned or unseasoned shrimp

1/2 cup of spaghetti noodles (that’s the long, thin pasta guys)

1 tsp of black pepper

1 tsp of garlic powder

1 tsp of butter or margarine

2 squeezes of lemon juice (fresh lemon works great, yeah…I was out)

Tastebuds…of course

Directions:

Heat your Shrimp over medium-low heat in a small or large skillet for 5 minutes and then allow them to simmer on low heat. Add two squeezes of lemon juice to your Shrimp. This also creates a nice, light juice to top your dish. Note: If your Shrimp are NOT seasoned, improvise. Try out a few of your favorite seasonings. Sorry guys this post doesn’t come with my Shrimp seasoning skills lol 🙂 .

In a separate saucepan, bring 1 1/2 to 2 cups of water to a boil (season with a dash of salt if you’d like. I prefer low sodium) Add your spaghetti noodles and cook for 10 minutes. By now, you should be salivating and ready to chow down! Drain your noodles and over low heat add your black pepper, butter or margarine and garlic powder. Heat for 2 minutes. Get your serving dishes ready to go and plate your noodles and then top it with your shrimp. Pour the juice over your dish to complete it and SERVE!

So…lets see 2 minutes to prep, 5 minutes for Shrimp and additional 5 minutes for your noodles 2 minutes to season your noodles 1 minute to plate and begin eating! Viola! “Magic 15!”

As you can tell, I enjoyed my quick-lunch.

 

—-Disclaimer: We are NOT responsible for any illnesses, accidents that may occur while trying to create this meal. Cook at your OWN risk! C’mon guys we love food and we do this for fun!

Like What You See?

